Who We Are


Jonathan Wei – Founder, Executive Director

Snapz Pro XScreenSnapz001Jonathan Wei is a writer, director and producer.  His work has appeared in The Village Voice, The Iowa Review, The North American Review, Glimmer Train and other publications and he is a past fellow of the Vermont Studio Center and the Atlantic Center for the Arts. Jonathan’s work has been staged at the Guthrie Theater, the Library of Congress, Maryland Center for the Performing Arts and others, and featured by the New York Times, Washington Post, the Huffington Post, MSNBC, NPR and others.  Jonathan founded The Telling Project in 2008, and continues to serve as executive director.

Senior Writer/Producer

Max Rayneard – Director of Research and Outcomes

Screen Shot 2015-03-06 at 1.54.01 PMDr. Max Rayneard, co-creator of The Telling Project process,  is a South African Fulbright Scholar who has written, produced and/or directed for The Telling Project on a dozen productions.He has presented papers regarding his Telling Project work at both national and global conferences, and has been published in peer-reviewed academic and creative venues. He is a research affiliate of the Peace and Conflict Studies Program and the Program of Theater in the Department of English at Colgate University and holds a PhD in Comparative literature from The University of Oregon.


Julie Coan – Director of The Telling Project Institute

Coan1217As Director of TPI, Julie Coan works with community leaders across the nation to build stronger connections to local veterans and military families through regional Summits. Prior to the Telling Project, Ms. Coan spent twenty years in Public Television in production and communications. For her work, she has won over 30 national, regional and local awards for community engagement and journalistic excellence, including seven Emmy Awards. Most recently Ms.Coan served as Senior Vice-President and Chief Operating Officer at KLRN in San Antonio. During her tenure she developed and led the station’s acclaimed VETERANS VOICES project, a multi-year initiative to serve transitioning military, veterans and their families through programming, convening and events. She has been asked to speak at several national and regional meetings on the topic of serving veterans and military families through innovative programming. Since 2004, Ms. Coan has served on the Lone Star Emmy Chapter’s Board of Governors and was recently elected to represent the chapter as a Trustee to the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences, which recognizes excellence in television programming through the prestigious Emmy Award. Originally from the Boston area, Ms. Coan graduated from the University of Massachusetts at Boston with a degree in Political Science. She resides in Houston, Texas with her husband Patrick, a United States Air Force and Navy Reserve veteran.

Board of Directors

Aubrey Wilkerson
Aubrey Wilkerson – Board Chair; Aubrey Wilkerson is the Executive Director of OutYouth, a longtime Austin GLBTQ youth development nonprofit. Prior to this role, Mr. Wilkerson served as senior development officer at the Texas Advanced Computing Center at the University of Texas, a strategist in local political campaigns and a fundraiser for other nonprofits like the Hill Country Ride for AIDS.

Caroline Morris – Board Secretary: Caroline Morris a novelist, short-story writer, essayist, educator and the longest standing board member of The Telling Project.  Her work has appeared in Permafrost, The Tulane Review and the American Book Review, and she is a past fellow of Yaddo and the Virginia Center for the Creative Arts.  Morris has served as political appointee to the Department of Education in the Clinton Administration, education and corporate counsel to the New York State Assembly, Founder and Executive Director of the Prospect Foundation and currently holds the position of Director of Fellowships at St. Edward’s University.  Ms. Morris holds a JD from the University of Virginia and an MFA in Creative Writing from the University of Oregon.

Screen Shot 2015-03-06 at 8.19.16 AMCharlotte Gullick – Board Member: Charlotte Gullick is a novelist, essayist, editor, educator and Chair of the Creative Writing Department at Austin Community College.  A first-generation college graduate, she received her AA with High Honors from Santa Rosa Junior College, a BA with Honors in Literature/Creative Writing from the University of California, Santa Cruz, and a MA in English/Creative Writing from the University of California, Davis. She will begin a MFA in Creative Nonfiction at the Institute of American Indian Arts in July 2014.  Charlotte’s first novel, By Way of Water, was chosen by Jayne Anne Phillips as the Grand Prize winner of the Santa Fe Writers Project Literary Awards Program, and a special author’s edition was reissued by the Santa Fe Writers Project in November of 2013. Her other awards include a Christopher Isherwood Fellowship for Fiction, a Colorado Council on the Arts Fellowship for Poetry, a MacDowell ColonyResidency, Faculty of Year from College of the Redwoods as well as the Evergreen State College 2012 Teacher Excellence Award.

Erica NicolaeErica Nicolae – Board Member; Erica Nicolae is the Director of Quality Systems at Apollo Endosurgery. Apollo is a global innovator pushing boundaries to bring new technologies and innovative products to markets in over 80 countries.